Sometimes the only way to deal with such tragedy is to find a way to learn from it and become better.

That’s what I got out of President Obama’s speech yesterday at The Memorial Service honoring those that lost their lives in the Tuscon, Arizona shooting.  In his speech he said…it is time to talk with each other “in a way that heals, not in a way that wounds…We may not be able to stop all evil in the world, but I know that how we treat one another is entirely up to us.”

My co-host Brennan says his goal is to speak life and possibility into people’s lives.  I love that.  I think it starts at home.

Every night as a part of the bedtime routine with the kids I tell my kids what I am “most proud of them for” that day. Maybe it’s playing nicely with their siblings, or helping Mommy put away the groceries.  I try to find something that involves helping others.  It’s something my husband says his mother used to do with him every night.

It trickled down to our family.  I think that’s the whole idea.  Once we speak life and possibility into the lives of our children, they speak it into the lives of their friends, and the lives of their children, and their Grandchildren…and just maybe the world around you will become a better place when more people hear the words, “I believe in you.” instead of “You’re not good enough.”

Tell me you speak life and possibility into the lives of your family by commenting to this blog.

 

