profileGreen Milk on St. Patrick’s Day, April Fool’s Meatloaf Cupcakes, and planning Andy’s Half Birthday Party. I have recently made a decision to embrace full-time motherhood as a creative profession, instead of a time in life that I’m just trying to survive.

I recently took a trip to the newly renovated Smithsonian American History Museum and was inspired by a little plaque on the wall about Motherhood after the Industrial Revolution. It said,

“…Middle and upper class women increasingly regarded motherhood as a creative outlet, for self expression and self-fulfillment. They strove not only to nurture, but to mold their children, taking pride in their graces and accomplishments.”

I wondered when did we loose that feeling? Fast forward 100 years…will there be another plaque about the Age of Technology that said women saw Motherhood as a chore? I hope not.

I have a dream that Stay-at-Home Mothers stop being embarrassed by not having an answer to the cocktail party question, “And what do you do for a living?” Instead of muttering quietly, “Oh, I’m just a mom.” I hope we give ourselves a real job title; Professional Mother.

That’s why I put forth so much effort to make every day as a learning opportunity with a craft, a song, an adventure to someplace new. Every week I try to have a new experience as a family. From “Field Trip Day” to Planting a Pizza Garden. I approach Motherhood as my creative profession. I have a daughter and a son to raise. I am taking this job seriously, and I’m having so much fun in the process.

