princesscropThere I was 6 weeks after having our baby boy and 30 pounds heavier trying on cocktail dresses for my husband’s company Christmas party. 

 As my daughter played with her dollhouse in her room and the baby slept, I dug deep in the back of my closet to see if  a red strapless dress I wore to a company party two years ago would fit. 

I took a deep breath, shimmied it over my hips and started to zip it up while  hoping it would make it beyond my waist and I could stave off a breakdown.  The zipper stopped at my back.  Even a few grunts and groans couldn’t get it up to contain my back and chest. 

As I prepared myself for a breakdown, my daughter runs into my room, mouth wide open and says, “MOMMY, YOU LOOK LIKE A PRINCESS!”  I immediately picked her up and hugged her close with tears of joy in my eyes.  She then says, “Can I put my princess dress on too?” 
 

“Of Course!”  I said.  “But Mommy, you don’t have a crown!  You can share mine”  my little princess cried out.   My heart melted, and that day turned into one I will never forget.  As we twirled and danced around the house, I remembered that we are all God’s princesses, He is the King and we are his daughters. He loves us just the way we are.  

“The King is enthralled by your beauty, honor him because He is your Lord.”  Psalm 45:11 

 

