My mom and Emily cooking this morning in my kitchen

My mom and Emily cooking this morning in my kitchen

 

I’ve never been much of a morning person.  Most mornings I greet the alarm (or calls for “mommy” -whichever comes first) with an “ugh”. I’m not one of those people that spring up out of bed fully rested and ready to greet the day.  In fact, those people get on my nerves!  Until now.  My daughter is one of those people. 

 

I have been as upfront and honest as I can with you about my struggles with depression and my successes at overcoming it.  When I was pregnant with my first child, Emily, I prayed that God would stop the cycle of depression in our lives, and that she would never experience it.  Turns out, God helped me stop the cycle with a child whose personality is so bright and cheerful that I can’t possibly start my day in a bad mood.

Turns out, God helped me stop the cycle with a child whose personality is so bright and cheerful that I can’t possibly start my day in a bad mood.  Emily greets the morning by declaring,  “Mommy, it’s happy outside!” That’s what she calls daylight!  To her, there are two times of day…”night-night” and “happy”!  When she wakes up and sees daylight peaking through the curtains in her pink polkadot “big girl” room…she calls it “HAPPY OUTSIDE!”  I hear her saying that from her bed most mornings.  Now, no matter what, I wake up with a smile, ready to face our day together, respecting my daughter’s declaration of joy for the day.

Even when the stores are full of skeletons and things that yell BOO when we can declare, “It’s Happy Outside!”

 “…for the joy of the Lord is my strength.”  Neh. 8:11

