Inside the gates of the White House grounds

Inside the gates of the White House grounds

Help me stop the negativity and pessimism about the future of America today…and turn into Hope. The confident expectation in the future of our families and the future of America.

 
I’m tired of the campaigning surrounding the election…and the media coverage of it only discussing the worst about our country instead of the hope that we have in our future!  I’m tired of everyone being so negative and pessimistic about this Bank Bailout in the news freaking everyone (and the stock market) out.  
 
Where is the optimism?  
 
I challenge you…to be hopeful and optimistic today in your job…in your home…and to the media. To trust that the people working for our country on this economic crisis have the best intentions and are seeking the best advice on what to do.  God knows, I have no idea how to fix it!  
 
Yesterday, a dear friend invited us on a special tour of the West Wing of the White House.  As I stood in the doorway of the oval office and was awed how bright and cheerful of a room it was, I was moved to tears.  It wasn’t dark and dreary, it was a room filled with hope.   If only every American could see our country from that bright and cheerful of a prespective.  I was encouraged to know that the smartest minds are meeting in such a HOPEFUL environment to solve the problems of today.  
 
I stood just outside the Cabinet Room last night…where our leaders had met the night before working hard for us to help our economy through this tough time…and realized how there is no escaping the honor of being in one of those chairs.  So, I choose to trust that their intentions are honorable and trustworthy…and no matter what side of fence politically you/they are on…that we all will come together in HOPEFULNESS of a better economic outlook to come…not expecting a crash or depression.  I choose to believe we will look back at this time and remember it as a great turning point that catapulted America and it’s families to even greater success.  It’s not just about elected officials though…it’s about you…doing your part…being optimistic and making good financial decisions.
 
We live in the most amazing country in the world.  The land of the FREE…the home of the brave.  We pulled together as ONE after 9-11 and put aside differences and came away stronger.  After all isn’t that what our grandparents taught us to do after surviving the Great Depression?  This country has been through hard times…and we know how to get out of it and come out better on the other end.  Let’s show them again!  I believe that America will prosper.  After all that’s a promise from God.  
 
This morning I’ve done some deep bible study about Believing God with the help of my “Living Free” Bible Study by Beth Moore.  
 
Believing God is beyond just saying/thinking that He exists or that God is real.  That’s “believing in” God. But, Believing God is putting yourself on the line for Him…taking a step out of your comfort zone…asking for the Big stuff..and trusting that God will not let you fall…and will not just meet, but exceed your needs. Believing what he says he can do.  
 
I can do this with the birth of Andy…believing for an easy, seamless birth.  We can do this for the economy and the stock market…believing that God can help us through it.  Believing that God has put the right people…in the right seats to make the right decisions to help America.  
 
I choose to be optimistic today…believing for the best…because that’s God’s promise…casting off the tendency to expect the worst.  Here is my prayer for us today:  
 
Father, I pray that my heart’s “eyes” may be enlightened…that I may know the hope…(confident expectation of good things from You) to which You have called me…the riches of your glorious way of life you have for me as your follower, and your great power for me when I believe…the same type of power that you used when you raised Christ from the dead.” (taken from Ephesians 1:18-20)
 
Can you believe that?  God applies the same power to our needs and prayers that He exerted when He raised Christ from the dead?!  Does that mean He can raise up our economy from the dead?  I choose to believe He can!
 
Let’s move beyond just believing in God…but Believing what He says is possible for us, our families, and our country.
 
When we have one of those negative days and feel doubt creeping into our minds….let’s ask for help…like the father who took his son to Jesus to be healed…asked Jesus.  He said, and we can pray…Father, I believe…and help me overcome my unbelief.  (Mark 9:23)
 
And when you hear doubtful negative talk at the office, from your family, from the media, challenge them to expect the best.  Remind them our history, remind them what God can do.
 
GOD BLESS AMERICA
Click here more pics of our West Wing tour….sorry no pictures were allowed inside the West Wing.  But we did get pics of the Press Room, Rose Garden, and Executive Office Building!
