What would you teach your children if you knew it was your day with them? 

I know it’s a tough and morbid thought today, but I’m challenged with this concept after I read a great article in Parade Magazine on Sunday about the Last Lecture of Professor Randy Pausch .  He is a husband and father of 3, and he is dying of cancer. 

Hopefully we will never get to this point.  But, it’s possible, and who knows if we will be lucky enough to have a warning.
It made me seriously think about what my job as a mother really is all about.  Do I want to mold my daughter into a a dream I have for her?   No.  I have to figure out how to empower her to be herself and achieve her own dreams and desires.  
For God says, “Delight in Me…and I will grant you the desires of your heart.”   Psalm 37:3-5
To teach my children how to fulfill their dreams, I need to teach them how to “delight in God”.  What does that really mean?  I believe it means to teach them not to be afraid of God, that he’s some mean judge that will punish them for being bad, but rather to teach them to trust God with their deepest innermost thoughts.  Trust means to lean on, rely on, and be confident in. 

That’s how I want my children to think about God. Their trusted companion, that will walk them out of “the valley”…their savior. 

Here’s a video of the actual last lecture called “Really Achieving Your Childhood Dreams”:  What would yours say?’

