photo.jpg

Sometimes you just have forget about the laundry and go out for ice cream! 

Tuesday was a freakish surprising warm day in Virginia!  I walked outside after Emily’s nap and realized it as WARM!  76 degrees to be exact.  So, I decided to change our course and go out for ice cream.

You would have thought that I personally hired the circus to come and perform for her.  She was thrilled to get her little pink (strawberry) ice cream scoop on a cone. 

TIP:  Did you know that Tuesday’s are buy one kiddie cone get one FREE at Cold Stone Creamery?! 

I discovered that lovely tidbit and got ice cream for myself too.  Sometimes you have to change your course and stop all the “mommy business train” and have some fun with your kids.  

And I realized I need to do it for myself too?  What’s my “ice cream cone”.  Something more than a mani/pedi.  Just a break from the busyness….a treat for myself that I can enjoy? 

Maybe a long drive with my favorite kind of music blaring…sunroof open…singing at the tops of my lungs.

Yeah.  That sounds like fun.

Oh well…I can wear the same t-shirt tomorrow.  Let the laundry stink. 

 If things are more serious for you today than needing a time out for ice cream…have you thought about taking a time out with God? 

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”  Matthew 11:28-30

It’s not about a list of things you have to do to be a good person, it’s about a way of living your life focused on the things that really matter. 

