nm_spears_welchel_071220_ms.jpg 

Today’s well done award:  Lisa Welchel for her comments on the announcement that Jamie Lynn Spears, 16, is pregnant.  (In case you haven’t heard, that’s Britney Spears’ little sister, who has her own show on Nickelodeon).

Here is an excerpt from an article from ABC News.  Click here for the full article.

Lisa Welchel, who played Blair on the TV show “Facts of Life” and is the author of several Christian family books, said that as a former teen star and now the mother of teen daughters, she has some sympathy for Spears.

“I’m very passionate about wanting to speak out on behalf of this young girl,” Welchel said. “She is a role model, but it’s not her responsibility to be a role model. That’s so much pressure on a 16-year-old.”

In fact, Welchel said she considers Spears a good role model for deciding to keep the baby.

“I’m so proud of her for stepping up and being courageous and taking responsibility for her choices, and I believe she’s being a good role model — a good role model in that situation, to choose to have the baby, and … I am supportive of her in that situation,” Welchel said.

Well said.  I wish I would have thought of it that way when I heard the news.  I was critical and harsh instead of what I should have been…sympathetic, prayerful, and thankful that she is giving her child a chance at life. 

This “news event” taught me even more about the importance of that. 

Well done Lisa Welchel.

And well done Jamie Lynn for choosing life. 

I am praying for you instead of criticizing you. 

Who am I to judge?

