Yesterday, Emily and I met Greg for a quick lunch.  I felt like the “little woman” picking him up in the office with a baby in the back seat.  Then, we went to a restaurant where most of the patrons were in ties, dresses, and carrying coach bags. Then there’s me in my comfy black leggings with boots and a big comfy sweater, carrying a diaper bag.    I stuck out.  It was obvious.

I wished I had a sign on my back that said, “THIS WOMAN USED TO HAVE AN IMPORTANT CAREER AND SHE GAVE IT ALL UP TO RAISE HER CHILD…SHAKE HER HAND.” 

I drove home feeling a little weak and deflated.  Like I was the little woman depending on her man who spends her days wiping noses, bottoms, and kitchen countertops instead of using her journalism degree to write an article about the plight of Darfur. 

Instead, I choose to blog about this transition, and write about my experiences.  Can that make as much of a difference?

“O my strength, I will sing praises to you, for you, O God, are my fortress, the God who shows me steadfast love.”—Psalm 59:17

No matter what I do with my education and experience, God is happy with me.  He is proud of me.  He is my King, and as his daughter, I am His princess.  He feels the same way about you too.  We are all his princesses.  Just believe. 

 

