I struggle with depression.  There, I said it.

ksbj_features_thumb.jpgI used to hide and cry for hours in my closet, and spend weekends in bed.  I’ve conquered it with a lot of help, but I have to be honest with you today was a  tough day as my family is facing major changes with my transition from working mom to stay at home mom.    It’s the uncertainty of my future that’s making me feel “not-like-myself”.  I’ve gone in and out of depression for a while, but the difference now is I know what to do to get better.  I recognize when I start to hide from the world, I need to tell people, exercise, eat well, and I need to remember that God has healed me.   I need to cry out to him and remember all the great things going on in my life because of Him to break that cycle of depression.  

Psalm 28:6-7 (New Living Translation)

Praise the Lord!
      For he has heard my cry for mercy.
  The Lord is my strength and shield.
      I trust him with all my heart.
   He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy.
      I burst out in songs of thanksgiving.

That’s what I did this afternoon after telling my husband that I needed some help, and getting encouragement from my dear friends, Chante and Courtney, who called to check on me.  I put on music, held Emily in my arms, and danced around the room thanking God for this opportunity for answering my prayers.   He will do it for you too.  He can help you get out of this depression, don’t wallow in it, tell someone, get help, cry out to God. 

One of the desires of my heart is to help women through depression.  My prayer is that God will give me opportunities to publish a book and speak to women who are hurting and encourage them to make the decision to break the cycle. 


 I love you! 
Amanda

