We know that God has good plans for us, plans to propser us, not to harm us, plans for hope and a future…and that future is changing for the Afternoon Show.  The Chuck and Amanda Show is retiring!  Amanda has gotten a “promotion”.  She has been hired by God to become a full-time mommy to her 15 month old daughter, Emily.  Chuck is coming off the air to focus more on his Program Director duties, plus he’ll get to be home more with Olivia when they finalize the adoption in China. 

Amanda:  I feel so honored and blessed to have served 7 years on the air at KSBJ.  You have been my family and friends, you’ve prayed forempigtails.jpg my marriage, and my pregnancy, my struggle with depression, and my transition into motherhood.  I love you!  Now, I’m starting a beautiful new season at home with my family.  It was a really hard decision and there are still days that I wrestle with the fact that I am giving up something I love to do so much, but I know God is faithful and has promised that He is providing something even better.  Honestly, it’s been difficult to come home after the show at 7:30pm to an already sleeping baby.  I have missed dinner-time, bathtime, and bedtime, now I will be able to be there for those precious moments.  I began praying to God to show me what his plans are for me, to make it financially possible for me to be at home, and He answered that prayer.  .   Like Peter, I had to be goaded into getting out of the boat!  That’s usually how God has moved me into new seasons in my life.  I resist, and the eventually give in!  I am scared, and excited at the same time.

But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.”  “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.”  “Come,” he said.  Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”  Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?” And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down. Then those who were in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.”  Matthew 14:30 

For a long time I doubted that financially we could be able to do this, now I know that God is not going to let us sink!   He’s not going to let my family sink, Chuck’s family sink, or you sink in the dreams that you have commited to God. 

I’ve been really encouraged lately by the song “Voice of Truth” by Casting Crowns.  In fact, on my way to work Friday, when I knew I had to make this news public, I heard these words, and I broke down in tears, because I knew even though my flesh did not want to leave this job, my God was calling me to something new.  I knew then, it was the right thing to do.  Here are the words that impacted me most…

Oh what I would do to have
The kind of faith it takes to climb out of this boat I’m in
On to the crashing waves
To step out of my comfort zone
Into the realm of the unknown where Jesus is
 
But the Voice of Truth tells me a different story
The Voice of Truth says, “Do not be afraid!”
And the Voice of Truth says, “This is for My glory”
Out of all the voices calling out to me
I will choose to listen and believe
The Voice of Truth

I thought, “Okay God, here it goes.  I’m jumping out of my comfort zone…getting out of the boat…not for my glory, but for Yours.

Chuck: Have you ever had one of those “selfish” moments? Yea, me too. In fact, I seem to have those a lot.

When Amanda first told me about her decision to be a stay at home Mommy I was both thrilled and sad at the same time… sad for me (because I’m selfish) and I knew it was the “beginning of the end” for the Afternoon Show with Chuck & Amanda. I was trying to be supportive but part of me was like hey, what about me? What about the show? What about me?????????

While I was being selfish I was honestly thrilled for Amanda, husband Greg, and sweet Emily who was going to have a Mommy there all day long, with plenty of time for B-U-B-B-L E-S! (see Amanda’s blog here) Still, I have this selfishness about me that drives me crazy. Then it hit me…

While I was lamenting the loss of a great partner and time with you each day it dawned on me that Emily was not going to be the only child to have more time with a parent. After all, I’m going to be a Dad for the first time in my life soon and Olivia is going to have a lot more Daddy time! I’ll be home at 5:00pm each day instead of 8:00pm as it is now… long after dinner time, bath time, and bed time for my Olivia.  

Since we have yet to go to China and our eyes have never even met I don’t really know much about her yet. But I’m guessing, like most little girls high on top of her wish list will be ”Daddy time.” Right now I have no idea if she’ll like peas, or be a dancer, or the color pink, but I suspect that at some point she’ll say just like Emily… “let’s play B-U-B-B-L-E-S Daddy, let’s play B-U-B-B-L-E-S…” and now, it’s going to be a little easier for me to say “sure, honey, let’s do that, I have plenty of time…”

I’ll miss spending our time together each afternoon from 4-7 but you know me, I’m pretty selfish and now I have an appointment around 5:00pm or so in my backyard. I’ll be busy having a tea, soaking in the sprinkler, or just blowing B-U-B-B-L-E-S with Olivia…

I guess it proves once again how selfish I really am but this time it might be for all the right reasons.

We love you!  Please join us at the “Chuck and Amanda Retirement Party” on our last day on the air together; Friday, June 29th from 4-7pm.

