Oh the Irony…

Emily had her 2-month checkup at the doctor today and her first round of immunizations.  I was nervous going into this, so I asked Greg to come with us this morning.  Here’s how it went…

I got up earlier then usual this morning to get Emily fed, bathed, dressed, etc. for her appointment, and the same for me too!  I didn’t even wear sweats today, my usual maternity leave attire, I dressed up a bit and actually felt kinda cute this morning. 

While it takes me 3 hours to get all of this accomplished, I watched Greg sleep in (the storm didn’t even wake him).  It took him a whopping 10 minutes to put on shorts, a t-shirt, a hat, and have some cereal.  Not fair! 

I got on him a bit about his attire.  He looked like a college student!  I thought, if I went to the effort of putting makeup on, at least he could wear a nice shirt instead of a holey t-shirt!  After some “discussion” I got my way…and we headed out to the appointment leaving 5 minutes late.

I made Greg hold my hand and comfort me on the way there…the uncertainty of her reaction to the 4 shots in her leg almost derailed my mental health for the morning.  I’ve handled severe weather coverage, war coverage, and hurricane coverage in a calm manner, but the thought of 4 needles piercing my newborn daughter’s perfect skin had me unglued.  I’m crazy!  Emily was fine, I’m the one that needed a pain killer.

Once we arrived everything was fine. First the nurse checked her out… she weighs 10 pounds now and is 22 inches long.  Then the doctor came in and checked her out, he says she’s perfect (of course I already knew that ). 

Then the nurse came back for the immunizations.  My poor girl was sound asleep and so comfy in my arms, I surrendered her and layed her down on the patient table that is way too big for her. Then in a flash.. the first needle went into her thigh…every muscle in her face tightened and she turned bright red…then the second needle in and she wailed…then shots three and four in her other thigh…that nurse was quick!

She wailed for a total of 30 seconds before I got to rescue her into my arms and cuddle her back to sleep.  That was it.  It was harder on me then her!  But…the “event” wasn’t totally over. 

As my little family emerged from the doctor’s office feeling relieved, and getting Emily’s car seat bolted back into the car…a nice woman with a 2 year old in her arms followed me out and stopped me.  She said…I have to tell you something…I know I would like to know…YOUR SHIRT IS INSIDE OUT!!!!!  I sheepishly said thank you, then turned to
Greg and said….WHY DIDN’T YOU TELL ME?????…

Well, of course he never noticed and then proceeded to tell me how funny and ironic it was that I spent 3 hours getting myself and the baby ready, criticized him on his shirt and made him change…all to have been humiliated by wearing my own shirt inside out…

Oh the irony…

I’m back to work next Monday, let’s hope I can get it together by then to wear my clothes right side out! 

BTW:  No, these pictures are not from the appointment today…I just added them for dramatic effect! 

