How to be a “Cool” Parent

This morning Emily and I prayed together!  I love that.  After her “breakfast” and getting dressed and cleaned up for the day I held her and rocked her while reading my little quiet time book to her.  I’m already trying to teach her the importance of daily time with God.  It’s never too early! Might as well start the routine now! 

It was about being a good servant for God… 

“God’s servant must not be argumentative, but a gentle listener and a teacher who keeps cool, working firm, but  patiently with those who refuse to obey.” 

2 Timothy 2:24 (Message paraphrase).

But, I got even more out of it.  It SO applies to the kind of parent I want to be.  A “cool” parent.  No, I don’t want to be one of those parents who is too permissive because they want to be best friends with their kids. I want to be able to keep my cool when things get tough.  I know I am a servant of God.  When I was 21 years old I made a decision to work for God, and be committed to ministry in my career…to be his dedicated servant.  I’ve done that at KSBJ, now I have added to that servant job description.  I also serve God by being a parent to one of his precious children.  So knowing that…let’s look at the scripture again…replacing “God’s servant” with “parents”

PARENTS must not be argumentative, but a gentle listener and a teacher who keeps cool, working firm, but patiently with those who refuse to obey.” 

2 Timothy 2:24 (Message paraphrase)

Oh what a challenge!  God help me! 

Dear Emily,

Your Mom and Dad are always here for you and will always listen to you and your problems.  When you mess up, we want you to never forget that we are here to help you get back on track by loving you, not getting mad at you.  We will be “cool parents” by staying calm and not yelling at you. 

We will gently and patiently point you in the right direction.  There may be consequences, but remember we love you no matter what and God loves you no matter what.  This is how he treats us when we mess up, so we will do the same for you.  We are always on your side, God is always on your side.  So remember when you get into trouble come to us, talk to God, and we will help you set things right. 

We also want to be there for your friends.  If your friends find themselves in trouble with no where to go, remember you can always bring them to us for help and direction.  That’s part of being a servant of God too…helping others in need and coming to the aid of those that are less fortunate then we are. 

We want our home to be open to all of your friends.  It will be a refuge of God’s love, and a fun place to be!  Do you know how many video games and movies your Daddy already has just waiting to play them and watch them with you and all of your friends?  Maybe someday when you’re old enough your Daddy will put in a pool!  At least that’s what Mommy would like you to ask him to do!  

Love,

Mommy

 

