I’m sorry, I haven’t updated in over a week now.  I’ve spent so much time covering the news of Hurricane Katrina that I had to take a bit of a “vacation of the mind” the past couple of days.  My pastor always told me to “guard my heart”.  Make sure you’re doing the same.  I was watching Oprah’s show about the Katrina victims yesterday and almost started sobbing, then realized, I don’t have to focus on the bad stories all the time.  Instead, I choose to focus on what I can do, to help turn the bad stories around.  I know God will and he’s using us to do it! 

Over the weekend, after Greg and I donated at the Houston Food Bank, we escaped.  We went to the Kemah Boardwalk on Sunday afternoon.  We walked along the boardwalk and watched sail boats float by while sharing a giant hot fudge sundae from Marble Slab.  We felt like we were on a little mini vacation!  We needed it in order to be effective for this week.  We even went on a boat ride.  I thought it was going to be a leisurly little tour of Galveston Bay, it turned out to be a wild ride where you get wet!  Poor Greg, he was soaked head to toe.  It cut the day a bit short, you can’t walk around soaking wet for the rest of the day!  We still enjoyed ourselves. 

I’ve learned something new about my husband now that I’m pregnant.  We’ve been married for 6 years, and I never knew he could cook like this!  He now makes dinner for me every night of the week!  He loves it!  Since I get home around 7:30pm after the show, we used to wait until I could whip something up real quick and eat, maybe by 8:30pm.  Now, he has dinner waiting for me when I walk in the door!  I think he feels it’s part of his responsibility to make sure I’m getting nutritious meals.  Last night we had this really good chicken casserole, and steamed broccoli.  He even makes sure I finish all my broccoli before I get up from the table!  It’s too cute.  And he feels SO PROUD of what he’s made as well.  If I don’t compliment him at least 10 times on how good it tastes, he’ll ask, “Didn’t you like it?  I worked really hard on it.  I made it for you.” 

I love it, never before has he doted on me so much, or complimented how I looked so much.  This might be the first of many pregnancies if this keeps up! 

Today is Greg’s birthday, so I plan to spoil him.  Since he says his gift from me is “not spending money” on him (he’s so frugal), I’ll feed him well.  I made him eggs for breakfast, made him a lunch to take to work, and tonight I’ll make his favorite desert-peach cobbler.  It’s so true, the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach!

Love ya!

Amanda

