Picture Day!  Here’s some of the latest pics from my pregnant adventures:

Me in my kitchen making my first load of bread from scratch.  I guess since my mother knows I’ll be cooking for her Grandchild, she has me in “mommy bootcamp”.  She says, “nothing but fresh and organic.”   I guess I need to move on from just heating things up in the microwave.  (see recipe below)

On left:  My mom and Greg moving in the baby’s first dresser.  We picked it up at an antique store for only $100.  I’m planning on changing the knobs if it’s a boy!

 

My Mom’s Bread Recipe:

Heartland Whole Wheat Bread

2 Tablespoons plus 1 1/2 teaspoons yeast (we had to add 1 extra tablespoon for Houston’s climate and low elevation)
1 2/3 cups lukewarm water (about 105 degrees)
1/3 cup honey
2 to 2 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
2 to 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (I use unbleached)
1 1/4 teaspoons salt

1. In large bowl of electric mixer, combine yeast and water; mix on low speed until yeast is dissolved. Blend in honey.

2. In medium bowl, combine flours and salt. Add about half of the flour mixture to yeast mixture; mix on low speed until well blended, about 5 minutes. Add remaining flour; mix well.

3. Place dough on lightly floured surface; knead until smooth and no longer sticky to the touch, 5-10 minutes. (Dough should spring back when poked with finger.)

4. Shape dough into ball; place in greased large bowl. Cover; let rise in warm place until doubled in volume. Punch dough down. Let stand 5 minutes.

5. Place dough in greased 9 X 5 inch loaf pan. Cover; let rise in warm place until doubled in volume.

6. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Uncover bread. Bake 40 minutes or until loaf sounds hollow when tapped with finger.

Yield: One Loaf (9 X 5 inch)

