Welcome to the World Parrish!

So, I went to see my girlfriend, Courtney, in the hospital yesterday.  She just gave birth to this perfect adorable baby boy. Her room was full of flowers, family, and love.  As I sat in the room cradling that precious sleeping newborn baby, I thought, “oh man this is going to be me in 6 months!”  I thought about the joy…Then, in the car on the way home I thought about the pain of labor, the sleepless nights ahead, the lack of experience I have in caring for a newborn, and fear took over!  I literally made myself sick.

Then, as if God, personally spoke to him about my inner thoughts…Pastor Joel Osteen of Lakewood Church went straight to addressing my fears this morning at church.   Pastor Osteen said, “Don’t go through you’re day expecting the worst, start expecting the best.”

I thought…OKAY GOD!  But, how do I not fear?  I’m having my first baby!

Pastor Osteen continued…here’s what I had time to write down in my journal…It’s just a collection of the Pastor’s phrases (or close to ’em) that hit right at my heart. 

  • Fear activiates the enemies power; Faith activates God’s power;

  • God meets us at the level of what we expect. 

  • Change your attitude, sow new seeds of hope and encouragement in your heart When you go around in fear expecting the worst, that’s what will happen. 

  • Don’t plan to fail! 

  • The only doorway the enemy has in your life is through your thoughts. 

  • When we fear, it allows it to come to pass. 

“For God did not give us a spirit of timidity (of cowardice, of craven and cringing and fawning fear), but [He has given us a spirit] of power and of love and of calm and well-balanced mind and discipline and self-control”  2 Timothy 1:7 (Amplified Bible)

OKAY!  OKAY!  OKAY!  I’m getting it God.  I am NOT going to fear the worst for my labor and delivery. I am going to expect that you will carry me through and give me the strength I need for the labor, and the extra energy I need in those first three months of sleepless nights.  I believe God, that you will help me keep my health and my weight in good shape during, and after this pregnancy.

Another fear that I have had is that I would have post-partum depression.  Simply, because depression has something I have struggled with in the past.  But, I have overcome!  And, God I have faith that it will not come back.  What we beat together once, has no chance of coming back again!  AMEN

I will expect the best of this whole experience, not the worst! 

Then He touched their eyes, saying, According to your faith and trust and reliance [on the power invested in Me] be it done to you.”  Matthew 9:29 (Amplified)

The Message Paraphrase of that same verse says, “Become what you believe”

Okay, God!  I will as Pastor Osteen said, “Get out of the negative and keep my mind running in the right direction!”

Will you join me?

Love ya! 

Amanda

